Combinatorical Drawing

If there is a pool of 2 Ms, 2 As, 2 Ts, 2Hs, and 1 X, Y, Z, how would you find the probability that if you drew 7 letter cards that you could spell Math from what you drew?

Answer

Answers can be viewed only if
  1. The questioner was satisfied and accepted the answer, or
  2. The answer was disputed, but the judge evaluated it as 100% correct.
View the answer
  • You have given the probability of drawing a M, followed by an A, followed by a T, followed by an H. I'm looking for a technique that likely uses combinations and inclusion/exclusion to compute the probability. Something like: total of 7 letter combinations with at least 1 M, A, T, and H over 11 choose 7.

    • Mathe Mathe
      0

      I'm afraid I don't understand your question, but I think it's different from what is stated in the problem.

  • So there are 11 letters and you draws 7 of them. What is the probability that you can spell Math from what you drew?

    • Mathe Mathe
      0

      I added a new response in the case that the order of the picks is not relevant.

  • On second thought, I think you are overcounting. If you drew a D1 in the 2C1 you could draw a D2 in the 7C3, which is fine, but you could also draw a D2 in the 2C1 and a D1 in the 7C3, which is just a reordering of the prior event.

    • Mathe Mathe
      0

      What do you mean by a D1 and a D2? I think you mean an 'M', for example. I must draw an 'M' at some point. The first M I draw is counted in the 2C1 factor. A second M would be counted in the 7C3.

  • Yes, meant M. I contend that the numerator, which represents the number of ways to have M A T H and 3 other letters is too large. The reason for this is, because, say you let M1 a 2C1, and M2 be in the 7C3. This is a valid draw. However, if in the future, if you have an M2 in the 2C1, and a M1 in the 7C3, with the other 5 characters the same, this event would be counted again with the method you presented.

    • Mathe Mathe
      0

      It would also be counted twice in the denominator.

  • It wouldn't be counted twice in the denominator because the denominator is counting unordered events. If you did a permutation, then sure, but the numerator would need to be adjusted.

The answer is accepted.
Join Matchmaticians Affiliate Marketing Program to earn up to 50% commission on every question your affiliated users ask or answer.